Top facebook2x Top youtube2x Top phone2x 01626 798111 Top email2x Email us Top search2x Basket Login Join
Home / News / New Year Dinghy Regatta
Home / News / New Year Dinghy Regatta

New Year Dinghy Regatta

Published 06:44 on 8 Jan 2024

Seventeen hardy souls ventured onto the River Teign at Coombe Cellars over the weekend of January 6th and 7th. Sharing the water with the rowing gigs on the Saturday was a challenge but provided some great spectacle for all the supporters along the river bank.

The rowing course was set to the east of TCYCs clubhouse predominantly along the south shore while the sailors were to the west and mainly over toward the northern shore. Three races each day were planned allowing two discards to be given. Sailors and safety boat crews on the Saturday had the better of the conditions with nice sunny weather and a moderate shifty north westerly whereas the Sunday was bitingly cold with a testing SEly backing to NEly as the day progressed. All this while the Race Officer presided over proceedings when from the warmth of a cosy race office in the clubhouse except for the briefing!

On both days the fleet was eager to get underway and saw them pushing the start line to such an extent a general recall was required. Fortunately they only did so once so flag U or X were not required.At the end of day 1 the first three positions were held by Paul Bartlett in his Solo followed by Andrew Commander in a K1 and Malcom Daviesin another of the 11 Solos taking part. With 7 points separating the top 3 there was all to play for on the Sunday. However Paul didnt show up Sunday and at the conclusion of the day it was Andrew taking the overall win followed by Malcolm and Gary Molton who took line honours in the last race of the day

Special thanks go to the on water safety crews of Vic Weston, Phil Clayborough, Richard Myrans and Dave Northcott who braved the bitterly cold winds and without whom racing wouldnt have taken place. Thanks also to to Richard Bryant and Steve Pocock for running the races so proficiently and to Garnett Showell, Heather Davies and Mike Commander for photographing all the action.


1 Andrew Commander, K1-103

2 Malcolm Davies, Solo-4654

3 Gary Molton, Solo-5893

Full and final results are posted on website

Last updated 16:11 on 29 February 2024

© 2024 Teign Corinthian Yacht Club powered by Sailing Club Manager