Teign Corinthian Yacht Club was proud to celebrate 50 years of Dinghy Racing at its sailing and RYA accredited training centre at Coombe Cellars on the river Teign over the weekend 19/20th September.

To mark the occasion it held a two day Jubilee Dinghy Regatta which on the Sunday also incorporated the now well established “Bart’s Bash” event which aims to raise money for the Andrew Simpson Sailing Foundation. This is a charity established in memory of Andrew, the winner of sailing Olympic Gold and Silver medals, who tragically died in 2013 at the age of 36 in an accident onboard the Artemis AC72 yacht in San Francisco Bay.

Racing got underway on Saturday morning in bright and sunny conditions but the wind was very light and fickle from the west which meant that Race 1 was shortened to only one lap of the triangular course set by Race Officer, Steve Pocock.

Mike Commander (K1) was the first home in the Fast Handicap Fleet followed by Brian Tucker (Laser Radial) and third, Rob Upton (Finn). The Slow Handicap Fleet comprised of the popular Solo class dinghy and first to finish was Peter Hearne. Second place went to Graham Tapper with Neil Howard third. William James (Tera Pro) won the Cadet race ahead of second and third placed Joe Manning (RS Feva) and Owen Martin (Laser Std). Unfortunately Race 2 was abandoned due to lack of wind and the fleets returned to shore.

When the sailors arrived on Sunday morning the river was shrouded in mist but this did eventually lift to allow Race 3 to start in the same light wind conditions as the previous day. Toby Sherwin (K1) was first to finish in the Fast Fleet followed by Commander in second place and Nick Orchard (Laser Vago) third. The top three in the Slow Handicap Fleet were again Hearne, Tapper and Howard in that order. The Cadet race was won by Alexander James (Tera Sport). Jack Peat (Laser Radial) was second with Martin third again.

With the tide now turned, Race 4 was cancelled and the three fleets of 33 boats lined up together to compete in Race 5, the Bart’s Bash all in handicap charity race. As the gun went the wind chose to die off almost completely leaving many of the competitors struggling to cross the start line. However, Toby Sherwin (K1) did pick up the lightest of zephyrs to pull out a commanding lead by the second mark only to become becalmed whilst the bulk of the fleet slowly closed the gap. With some 15 boats now trying to round the same mark at the same time the inside track was hotly contested with Ray Potter (K1) emerging in the lead ahead of Hearne (Solo) They finished in this order but on handicap Hearne took the overall win to retain the Bart’s Bash Trophy.

Bart' Bash Group Photo


Final Regatta Results:

Fast Handicap Fleet:

First        Mike Commander (K1)

Second   Paul and Daniel Craft (Laser 2000)

Third       Ray Potter (K1)

Slow Handicap Fleet:

First        Peter Hearne (Solo)

Second   Graham Tapper (Solo)

Third       Neil Howard (Solo)

Cadet Fleet:

First        William James (Tera Pro)

Second   Owen Martin (Laser Std)

Third       Jake Peat (Laser Radial)

Bart’s Bash:

First        Peter Hearne (Solo)

Second   Graham Tapper (Solo)

Third       Ray Potter (K1)

The prizes were presented by Club President, Jane Cumbley-Kerslake who also gave a brief history of TCYC’s development of the Coombe Cellars site since it was purchased 50 years ago in 1965. This was followed by a BBQ and the cutting of a celebratory cake by some of the Club’s youngest members to mark the Jubilee event.

A huge thanks to Steve Peacock and Don Harrison for their Race Officer duties and also to all those Members who helped support the event, especially the galley team that provided such a wonderful spread of buns burgers and baps!

.Full results can be found in the Results Section in this website.

Sunday’s Bart’s Bash “action” was kindly captured by a drone flown by Rob Locke and Andy Turley. This can be viewed via the following link: